So You’re Graduating…What Now?

Image

What am I doing after college? Oh…..well, uh…..bye! *runs away and hides forever*

This is the worst question ever. No one wants to answer it. Except for the kids who just got into law school. While my senior year at UNC Chapel Hill has been full of wonder so far with some crazy sports victories and a vast wealth of “mental health” days, I am still staring down the road at the dreaded month of May. That’s when college spits you out and says, “Hey pal, it’s up to you now.”

So, let’s see….I have a few options:

  • “Get some more education!” Oh wait, that’s thousands of more dollars.
  • “Get a job!” Hahahahahhahahahaha
  • “Get an internship” Usually un(der)paid work the man makes you do for the experience
  • “Keep on working at the bar!” Oh, joy. Another beer, sir?

Ok, so this might be a little negative. But that’s the paranoia of it all, right? I know I’m going to be successful. I know it’s going to take a little time to get the perfect job. And I’m willing to move around the world to find it. In the meantime, I have some sweet bar service skills to keep me afloat. ***Note: You can live wherever you want when you work in the service industry***

Bottom line: You don’t have to settle for a boring desk job. But you might have to go through the internships, the part-time jobs, and the incredibly small apartment living to get to the DREAM JOB. I am certain that that’s my future for now.

But later, when I write the Emmy winning episode for the latest and greatest AMC show or am a hotshot creative director at to-be-determined innovative star advertising agency you will all know what got me there: Humility. I’m good at the things I do. But I have a whole lot to learn despite my pending Bachelor’s degree. In the meantime, I guess I’ll just keep up with my shiny, new blog.

(Pssssst: Click on the comment bubble below to add your thoughts! Oh and share this, will ya? Girl’s gotta get some publicity around here.)

2 thoughts on “So You’re Graduating…What Now?

  1. Find the Kokyu food truck in Durham. The short rib quesadilla & duck fat tater tots will change your life… but my husband assures me that the tacos are phenomenal, too.

Leave a Reply

